Australia Awards Scholarships

Australia Awards Scholarships 2020/2021

Australia Awards Scholarships

Australian Government
Bachelors/Masters/PhD Degrees

Deadline: 30 August 2020 (annual)
Study in:  Australia
Course starts 2020


Australia Awards Scholarships, formerly known as the Australian Development Scholarships (ADS), offers people from developing countries, especially countries in the Indo-Pacific region, the opportunity to undertake undergraduate or postgraduate studies full-time cycle at participating Australian universities and in technical higher education (TAFE).

Host institution (s):

One of the participating Australian institutions

Level / field (s) of study:

Undergraduate or postgraduate programs related to your country’s priority development areas, listed in the participating country profiles.

Australian scholarships are not available for training in areas related to flying aircraft, nuclear technology or military training.

Number of Scholarships:


Target group:

Citizens of one of the participating countries in Asia, the Pacific, Africa and the Middle East. See the full list of participating countries.

Scholarship Value / Inclusions / Duration of the Scholarship:

The benefits of the scholarship generally include: full tuition, round-trip travel, establishment allowance, contribution to living expenses (CLE), health cover for foreign students (OSHC), academic program introduction (IAP), pre-course English fees (PCE), etc. See the full list of benefits on the official website.

Scholarships are awarded for the minimum period necessary for the individual to complete the academic program specified by the Australian higher education institution, including any preparatory training.


To be eligible to receive a scholarship, applicants must:

  1. be at least 18 years of age on February 1 of the year in which the scholarship begins;
  2. be a citizen of a participating country (as indicated on the Australia Awards website) and reside and apply for the scholarship from their country of citizenship;
  3. not be an Australian citizen, hold a permanent residence in Australia or apply for a visa to live in Australia permanently;
  4. not be married, engaged or de facto with a person who holds or is eligible for Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residence, at any time during the application, selection or mobilization phases (note: Cook residents The islands, Niue and Tokelau of New Zealand nationality are eligible but must apply for a student visa [subclass 500]);
  5. not be serving military personnel;
  6. have not previously received a long-term Australian award, unless they have resided outside Australia for twice the total duration of their stay in Australia (for example, a former fellow who has received an Australian scholarship in Australia for four years will not be eligible to apply for another Australia Awards until they have resided in Australia for eight years);
  7. have met any specific criteria established by the program area or the government of the country of citizenship of the applicant (for example, having worked for a number of years in an appropriate sector);
  8. be able to meet the admission requirements of the institution in which the scholarship is to be carried out (this may mean that program areas will have to withdraw a reward offer if the recipient cannot meet the admission requirements of the ‘institution. This may not be known before the program areas apply for placement in selected institutions);
  9. be able to meet all the requirements of the Department of Home Affairs to hold a student visa. This may mean that the program area will have to withdraw an award offer if the recipient cannot meet the visa requirements;
  10. Do not apply for a scholarship for a study program at an academic level lower than what they have already obtained (for example, request a master’s scholarship when they already hold a doctorate); and
  11. Applicants must inform the program area of ​​any link or relationship with staff employed in the program areas (including locally recruited staff at the post) or with the managing contractors so that the application can be managed correctly and transparently. .
READ  Sustainability Scholarship at De Montfort University, UK

Read the full eligibility criteria in the Australia Awards Policy Handbook (PDF)

Application Instructions:

Check your country’s opening and closing dates and select your country of citizenship / residence from the list of participating countries for specific information on eligibility, priority areas and how to apply. The deadline varies by country. The deadline for most countries is April 30, 2020, with the exception of Vanuatu (March 31). Applications for Africa will be closed on June 6, 2020.

It is important to read the page on how to apply and visit the country specific pages, and the official website (link below) for detailed and updated information on how to apply for this scholarship.


Official scholarships website:


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *